top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturejohnstonmacd

Day 3 - time to do so learning and a bit of disappointment

I always considered myself to be in ok shape but that clearly was not the case when I took my first Vinyasa yoga class today. To start out, it wasn't hot yoga but it felt like it was 200 degrees in there and I assume some of that was just my nerves of attempting yoga. I maybe should have tried a toddler class as within the first few minutes the instructor was calling out poses like something dog, sunshine glory, pain pretzel, and impossible pose - or that was what I thought I heard him say. For as hard as it was, I plan on going back and seeing this through. The opportunity to quiet my mind while exercising is very appealing to me (minus the 40 gallons of sweat I lost).


What I learned: I can bake!!! Ok, I have baked before but never banana bread from scratch (in the past it was from a box and included many ingredients I couldn't pronounce). My wife kept telling me to make sure I measured (something I am not very good at - don't measure and cut until it fits is my motto) but I decided to wing it. Turned out ok, other than the top sticking to some tinfoil which is why it looks like a crater on the moon.


What I appreciated about the day: my daughter and I played bounce-the-ball, yes, it is what it seems. Bounce a ball back and forth and see how many times you can do it. We beat our record and landed on 124! Sometimes the most simple things in life can bring a smile to your face.


I almost forgot the disappointing part of my day. I assumed Costco on a weekday would be awesome. Nobody there, free samples all to myself, people handing out money as I walked in - dreams crushed. The parking lot was packed, people elbowing me to get the free samples of cut up sausages, and lines that made Disneyland look tame.


42 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2 commentaires


sudhakar
08 juil. 2019

That’s an awesome looking cake..must be tasty too 😊

J'aime

carol.grojean
08 juil. 2019

Hi Mac, it is so fun to hear and read all you are doing. Thank you for sharing your sabbatical with us! Carol

J'aime
bottom of page